According to Minnesota law, drivers involved in an accident are required to stop and render aid and stop to exchange information. Minnesota exacts serious penalties for drivers who leave the scene of an accident. Failure to stop or provide information, even if you hit an unattended vehicle in Minnesota, can result in criminal charges and even jail time.
Hit and run victims may find themselves unsure about what to do. These individuals often don’t have information about the other person or vehicles involved and can’t make claims on the other driver’s insurance if the driver was at fault. Here are four things to do if you’ve been involved in a hit and run accident.
- Get proper medical attention. Follow instructions of emergency personnel and make sure you follow up with your doctors after an accident. It can be frightening to be involved in a hit and run accident, especially if you were not at fault, and if you are not sure the other driver will be caught and be held responsible. You may worry about medical expenses and rehabilitation costs, particularly if you don’t have the benefit of making a claim on the other driver’s insurance. Even so, you should make sure you get the medical care you need. You have options.
- Report the incident to the police. Inform the police immediately and have a police report made. Try to provide the police with as much information as possible and see if there were any witnesses present who may be able to supply additional information.
- Make an uninsured motorist claim. Fortunately, in Minnesota, drivers can still make a claim against their insurance policy’s uninsured motorist coverage. According to the Minnesota Department of Commerce, drivers are required to have personal injury protection coverage, liability coverage, uninsured motorists coverage, and underinsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage will allow drivers to collect up to $25,000 in injuries for one person, and up to $50,000 in injuries to two or more people. If you hold the minimum coverage required by Minnesota law, you should be able to use your uninsured motorist coverage if you have been a victim of a hit and run driver. Hit and run drivers—whether they are insured or not—are considered uninsured because victims often don’t get insurance information on these vehicles.
- You may qualify for Minnesota’s crime victims’ funds. The state has set aside money to help victims of “criminal vehicular operation and drunk driving.” Hit and runs are criminal offenses and if your uninsured motorist coverage isn’t enough to pay all your bills, you may qualify for additional help.
Being involved in a hit and run accident can be difficult for victims and families. The good news is that you have options until the person responsible for your accident is caught. A personal injury lawyer in Minneapolis, Minnesota may be able to assist you in seeking compensation for your medical expenses, pain and suffering, and lost wages. Contact the Law Office of Martin T. Montilino today to learn more about your rights.
Those in need of a Personal Injury Lawyer following an accident in Indianapolis may want to reach out Baker and Gilchrist.